2016 Man Booker Prize Longlist Is Announced

The Man Booker Prize 2016The longlist for the 2016 Man Booker Prize was announced today. The list includes books by five American authors and is as follows:

• Paul Beatty (US) – The Sellout (Oneworld)
• J.M. Coetzee (South African-Australian) – The Schooldays of Jesus (Harvill Secker)
• A.L. Kennedy (UK) – Serious Sweet (Jonathan Cape)
• Deborah Levy (UK) – Hot Milk (Hamish Hamilton)
• Graeme Macrae Burnet (UK) – His Bloody Project (Contraband)
• Ian McGuire (UK) – The North Water (Scribner UK)
• David Means (US) – Hystopia (Faber & Faber)
• Wyl Menmuir (UK) – The Many (Salt)
• Ottessa Moshfegh (US) – Eileen (Jonathan Cape)
• Virginia Reeves (US) – Work Like Any Other (Scribner UK)
• Elizabeth Strout (US) – My Name Is Lucy Barton (Viking)
• David Szalay (Canada-UK) – All That Man Is (Jonathan Cape)
• Madeleine Thien (Canada) – Do Not Say We Have Nothing (Granta Books)

“This is a very exciting year,” said Amanda Foreman, chair of the 2016 judges. “The range of books is broad and the quality extremely high. Each novel provoked intense discussion and, at times, passionate debate, challenging our expectations of what a novel is and can be.”

The longlist includes four debut novels: Hystopia by David Means, The Many by Wyl Menmuir, Eileen by Ottessa Moshfegh and Work Like Any Other by Virginia Reeves.

The six-book shortlist will be announced on September 13. Each author to make the list will receive £2,500 and a specially bound edition of his or her book. The winner will be announced on October 25 and will receive £50,000.

The Man Booker Prize was first awarded in 1969 and is the leading prize for literary fiction written in English.

To get all the ebook and digital publishing news you need every day in your inbox at 8:00 AM, sign up for the DBW Daily today!


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *