Adobe CEO Calls Publishing A “Consumption Environment”

[Press Release]

Technology is Transforming Publishing, Supporting Consumption of Content on Every Device, Adobe CEO Shantanu Narayen Says

-Shantanu Narayen, president and CEO of Adobe, presented at Utah Technology Council’s 2013 Hall of Fame Gala-

October 15, 2013
SALT LAKE CITY–(BUSINESS WIRE)–Publishing is undergoing a dramatic transformation, says Shantanu Narayen, president and CEO of Adobe. Narayen spoke to leading Utah technology executives and business and community leaders at Utah Technology Council’s (UTC) ( 2013 Hall of Fame Celebration last week at the Grand America Hotel in Salt Lake City.

“Publishing dollars are now turning to dimes,” Narayen told the audience. “This is a challenge for everyone in the publishing industry and an opportunity, as well, as we move to a consumption environment. Consumers want to have every kind of content available to them wherever they are, from any device that they want.”

Narayen referred to Adobe’s Digital Marketing Software as a Service (SaaS) business, based in Utah, as a “runaway success” that is on a run rate exceeding one billion dollars in annual revenue.

“All of marketing is moving online,” he noted. “Every company needs to adapt to this opportunity and need. That is presenting a great opportunity for Adobe and for all technology companies here.”
He noted that Adobe’s iconic building on Utah’s I-15 corridor is one of his favorite Adobe buildings and remarked that Adobe’s Utah roots run deep.

At the event, David R. Bradford, Carl R. Kjeldsberg and John M. Matsen, III were inducted into the UTC Hall of Fame. The Hall of Fame honors individuals with Utah ties that have made global contributions to the information technology, life science and clean tech industries through new technology, innovation and leadership.

This year’s Hall of Fame inductees join past recipients Stephen Aldous, Alan Ashton, David Bailey, Dale H. Ballard, Bruce Bastian, H. Raymond Bingham, Nolan Bushnell, Greg Butterfield, Edwin Catmull, James Clark, Gary L. Crocker, Bernard Daines, David Evans, Philo Farnsworth, Mark Fuller, Stephen Jacobsen, Josh James, Jim Kajiya, Alan Kay, Spencer Kirk, Fred Lampropoulos, Michael O. Leavitt, Drew Major, Peter Meldrum, Raymond Noorda, Dinesh Patel, Shane Robison, Kevin Rollins, Mark Skolnick, James LeVoy Sorenson, David Spafford, Theodore H. Stanley, Thomas Stockham, Jr., Ivan Sutherland, Homer Warner and John Warnock.

The gala headlines keynotes from some of the world’s great technology companies. Past keynote speakers include: Jeff Bezos of; John Chambers of Cisco; Eric Schmidt of Google; Jerry Yang of Yahoo!; Steve Ballmer of Microsoft; Mark Hurd of Oracle; Paul Otellini of Intel and Kevin Rollins of Dell.

Sponsors for the 2013 Hall of Fame event were Adobe, ARUP Laboratories, LANDesk, Utah Business, Zions Bank, KPMG, University of Utah, Crocker Ventures, Durham Jones & Pinegar, General Atlantic, Novell, Pelion Venture Partners, REES Capital, Vivint and Wells Fargo.

About the Utah Technology Council
The UTAH TECHNOLOGY COUNCIL is the state’s premier professional association for over 4,700 high tech, clean tech and life science companies. At its core, UTC exists to help Utah technology businesses become more relevant and competitive by creating VALUABLE CONNECTIONS with members and others who offer peer experience and advice, by addressing the serious TALENT SHORTAGE faced by member companies and by assisting members to gain ACCESS TO FUNDING. Members join UTC to share insights with industry peers, counsel with government and academic leaders and receive help from professional service providers and funding resources.

One thought on “Adobe CEO Calls Publishing A “Consumption Environment”

  1. Pingback: Publishing Opinions | Adobe CEO Calls Publishing A “Consumption Environment”


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *