Inaugural Publishing Innovation Awards Winners

The winners of the first-ever Publishing Innovation Awards were announced to a crowd of more than 500 publishing professionals at the Opening Ceremony of the Digital Book World 2011 Conference + EXPO taking place at the Sheraton Hotel & Towers in New York City. Five winners were chosen from each of the top three finalists in the categories of Fiction, Non-fiction, Reference, Children’s, and Comics.

“Our winners, and all our finalists, have produced some of the most creative work taking place today in our industry,” said David Nussbaum, Chairman & CEO, F+W Media. “It’s our pleasure to honor these companies and individuals and doubly exciting having the opportunity to do so at an event like Digital Book World, with more than a thousand of their peers in attendance.”

Publishing Innovation Awards Winners

Fiction Winner:  DRACULA: The Official Stoker Family Edition (PadWorx Digital Media)
Finalists:  Letters From Father Christmas (HarperCollins); War of the Worlds (Smashing Ideas)

Non-Fiction Winner: Logos Bible Software (Logos Bible Software, Inc.)
Finalists:  10 Greatest Card Tricks of All Time (Vook & Workman Publishing); Ansel Adams (Hachette Book Group, Inc.)

Children’s Winner:  A Story Before Bed (Jackson Fish Market)
Finalists: Cozmo’s Day Off (Ayars Animation, Inc.); The Pedlar Lady of Gushing Cross (Moving Tales)

Reference Winner:  Star Walk for iPad (Vito Technology Inc.)
Finalists: Let’s Eat Out with Celiac / Coeliac and Food Allergies! (R & R Publishing); The Solar System (Touch Press)

Comics Winner: Robot 13 (Robot Comics)
Finalists: Operation Ajax (Tall Chair, Inc.); Tumor (Archaia Studios Press)

The Publishing Innovation Awards recognize the best ebooks and book apps based on their merits in the areas of origination, development, production, design, and marketing.

Judges for the Publishing Innovation Awards were: Peter Costanzo, Director of Digital Content, F+W Media (former Online Marketing Director of Perseus Books Group); Elizabeth Castro, author of EPUB: Straight to the Point; Peter Meyers, author of Best iPad Apps and the E2BU white paper, Enhanced Ebooks Today and Tomorrow: A Survey for Authors and Publishers; Liza Daly, president of Threepress Consulting and developer of Bookworm, ePub Zen Garden & Ibis Reader; and Joshua Tallent, founder/CEO of eBook Architects and author of Kindle Formatting: The Complete Guide.

The submission period is now open for the 2011 Publishing Innovation Awards.

4 thoughts on “Inaugural Publishing Innovation Awards Winners

  1. Pingback: Awards presented to Shapcott, Walcott, and book apps | Quillblog | Quill & Quire

  2. Pingback: digital book world workshop notes from 1/24 | big ideas

  3. Pingback: Synthèse du Digital Book World | SoBookOnline, remarques sur le livre numérique, enrichi et social

  4. Pingback: Why I’m attending the Yale University Book Publishing and Digital Course « Digireado


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *